Solidarity Assembly - National Week of Solidarity (LIVE)

Solidarity Assembly - National Week of Solidarity (LIVE)

via Zoom
Melbourne, VIC
Google map and directions
September 08, 2020 at 7:00pm - 8pm

7pm AEST/6.30pm ACST/5pm AWST

Join us for a conversation about the impacts of the Covid-19 on people seeking asylum and refugees, and the lack of support being offered by the Federal government. We will hear from a range of incredible speakers and artists and then take collective action in support of the #NoChildLeftBehind campaign.

The Solidarity Assembly is designed for students, teachers, parents and members of the public to learn more about the issues and how you can get involved in the campaign to help achieve change. We will cover the current policy context for people seeking asylum, hear directly from someone in the process, learn about the human rights implications of the current situation and appreciate some amazing poetry and artistry. Finally we will provide a range of opportunities to ensure Minister Ruston hears our call loud and clear.

You can bring as many people along as you like, and don't forget to share the event with other schools and community groups in your area!


Edward Santow, Human Rights Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission

Shabnam Safa - Chair of the National Refugee-led Advisory and Advocacy Group (NRAAG)

Shukufa Tahiri - Policy Officer at the Refugee Council of Australia

Hani Abdile - Writer and spoken word artist


Zoom details will be provided closer to the date.

If you are unable to attend this time and date, you can watch the repeated recording on Thursday 10 September. RSVP here.


Will you come?

Fancy Chen Colleen Foley Susan Cameron Helen Esmond Maureen Long Laura Stacey Mark Gregory Clarke Brendan Doyle Justin Park Fatima Ali Kayenat Ali Shane Duran Satomi Hiyama Anita Pesa Lucy Smith Elizabeth Croke Mark Goudkamp Maurizio Vespa Jenna Williams-Gray Anne Byrne Angela Catallo Joanna Stobinski Jovana Mastilovic Elly Brooks Julianne Hopkins Justin Park Azka Afzal Wendy Oldmeadow Katie Laurie Rnita Dacho Sue Ismiel Rnita Dacho Mandy Wells Kylie Richter-Cools Michael Elphick Rose Ising Kim Jackson Jodi Dowler Laura MacColl Patricia Fox Susan O’Leary Haswani Sungit Rebecca Beeby Rev Comrade Rowley Margaret Walters Kathie Herbert Kate Harrington-OBrien Kaliopi Tsousis